Report on Interest
under logo

Tinubu, others end APC caucus groups in Lagos

By Idowu Abdullahi,

The battle for the control of the Lagos State chapter of All Progressives Congress party (APC) by different caucus within the ruling party in the state has now gone into the abyss of history, the Guild reports.

It was gathered that the alleged supremacy battle had thrown the party off its balance with members being loyal to caucuses rather than the party which is the umbrella body, a development which had caused enmity among factions of caucus within the party.

Concerned by the by squabble by different factions of the caucus, National leader of the All Progressive Congress (APC), Bola Tinubu, alongside other party chieftains in the state has permanently put an end to all party caucus groups in the state.

They explained that the action had become imperative to correct the erroneous impression of the public and debunked rumors from some certain segment that caucus groups in the state’s chapter of the party signify crack in its chain of command and alleged infighting.

Besides, the party stalwarts unanimously agreed that names of factions formerly identified with the state chapter of the party would only be used by party members as references in instances of history.

The party chieftains under the aegis of Governor’s Advisory Council (GAC) said that since the party was one group from a single-family and that there was no need for other factions like Justice Forum and Mandate Group in the state.

In a communique signed by 27 members of the GAC the party chieftains resolved that all factions like JG and MG were inimical to the party unity, hence the permanent disbandment and prohibition of such within the party.

The signatory to the communique released to newsmen on Tuesday includes Tinubu; the state Governor, Babajide Sanwoolu; his Deputy, Obafemi Hamzat; former governors in the state, Akinwunmi Ambode, and Babatunde Raji Fashola respectively.

Others are Tajudeen Oluyole Olusi, Henry Oladele Ajomale, Bushura Alebiosu, Abiodun Ogunleye, Murphy Adetoro, James Odunmbaku, Tony Adefuye, S. A. Seriki, Olorunfunmi Bashorun, Rabiu Oluwa, M.A. Taiwo, Mutiu Lawal Are, Yomi Finnih, Muyiwa Sosanya, Tunde Samuel, Adeyemi Ikuforiji, Rasak Lanre, Mudashiru Adisa Obasa (speaker), Babatunde Balogun, Wale Edun, Ranti Adebule and Kemi Nelson.

They noted that the party remains supreme and the members of the state’s chapter should desist from associating with any factions other than the party.

“Party members should no longer make use of these factions or their names with regard to future party business and activities. To continue to hold meetings in the name of these groups or to continue to promote such associations will amount to a violation of this resolution.

“The only permitted use of the names will be limited to historic references. Any violation of this decision is subject to party discipline, including suspension and expulsion. This prohibition extends solely to the official party business. We are in no way trying to abridge anyone’s constitutional rights to free speech or assembly. The party chairman is hereby tasked with promulgating more detailed regulations with regard to prohibited and permissible activities for sub-party groupings.

“The party remains supreme. It has developed structures from the ward level to local government and state levels. These are recognized by the party’s constitution. They are adequate platforms for members to congregate and to present their views.

“The APC in Lagos is one party and one family. We must always act in this spirit if we are to attain the dream of democratic prosperity that we set out to achieve. We must do this in honor of June 12 and those who gave of themselves to make democracy our reality,” the communique read.


Leave A Reply

%d bloggers like this: