Report on Interest
under logo

Lagos Govt. suspends RTEAN indefinitely, appoints 35-man caretaker committee

By Monsurudeen Olowoopejo

Following clashes between members of Lagos chapter of the Road Transport Employers Association of Nigeria (RTEAN), the State government has approved the indefinite suspension of the transport union across the state.

The state government, meanwhile, has also appointed a 35-man caretaker committee led by the Oniba of Iba Kingdom, Oba Sulaiman Raji, to take over operations of the transport union all parks within the state.

As gathered, the suspension was approved by the state governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, after their clashes were said to have been in contrast to the administration’s cardinal objectives of the T.H.E.M.E.S Development Agenda for the state.

The suspension came barely 24 hours after the transport union members took to the parks clashing in Lagos Island and Iyana Iba axis of the state, disrupting commercial and personal activities across the state.

The Special Adviser to the Governor on transportation, Sola Giwa, said that the suspension becomes imperative following some pockets of violence recorded in Ojo and Lagos Island yesterday, saying a 35- Man Caretaker Committee has been constituted to take over activities of the Union.

Giwa reiterated that suspension becomes necessary to prevent further acts of violence in the State, stressing that men of the Lagos State Police Command will be deployed across the State to enforce the suspension and ensure the safety of lives and properties.

Through a statement released on Thursday, He revealed that the State had met with some representatives of the RTEAN yesterday following a protest by some members of the Union demanding the removal of their national president.

The governor’s aide stressed that the government had assured RTEAN members of a total investigation of the allegations leveled against the National President with a promise to resolve all lingering issues.

On the committee, Heading the Caretaker Committee is Sulaiman Adeshina Raji with Bamgbose Oluseyi as Deputy Chairman. Other members of the Committee include; Sunday Aransiola, Sulaiman Onabanjo, Azeez Abdulrahman, Isiaka Seriki, Victor Ifemenam, Kareem Babatunde, Amusan Abdulrahman, Teslim Adeshina, Sulaiman Surajudeen, and Fatai Rauf,

Others are; Sunday Banjo, Segun Omole, Thomas Akinkayode, Taiwo Lasisi, Gbenga Kashimawo, Samson Ajala, Taiwo Daodu, Sule Aliu, Ahmed Musa, and Oladipupo Ibrahim. Adewale Adeniyi, Olatunji Durojaiye, Wasiu Olanrewaju, Taofeek Onileola, Yusuf Afolabi, Bode Ogungbade, Alh. A.A. Ussaini, Saliu Usman, Saheed Badru, Kolawole Yusuf, Kayode Thomas, Idowu Oyewole, and Salami Babatunde Ope are to also join them.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: