Report on Interest
under logo

Lagos, Abuja, five others on COVID-19 third wave red alert

By Monsurudeen Olowoopejo

As part of the preventive measures against a third wave of COVID-19, the Federal Government has put six states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Abuja on red alert, saying there were signs of increase rate of the virus spread.

The government explained that Abuja and the six states, Lagos, Oyo, Rivers, Kaduna, Kano and Plateau, were placed on the alert following the confirmation of the Delta variant of COVID-19 and the rising number of infections and hospitalisation across the country.

Through a statement released on Saturday, and signed by the Presidential Steering Committee (PSC), and released by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, PCS further warned all states of the federation to heighten their state of preparedness and continue to enforce all protocols put in place, given the renowned greater ease of spread of the Delta variant.

While saying that the steps were critical as there were worrisome early signs of increasing cases in the country, he added that the PSC will continue to minimize the risk of importation of variants of concern into the country by strengthening surveillance at all Points of Entry (POE), enforcing extant quarantine protocols and sustaining the current restrictive measures against travellers arriving from India, Brazil, Turkey and South Africa.

While PSC felicitatated with the Muslim faithful on the occasion of the Eid-el-Kabir celebration, the PSC, however, urged all state governments and religious leaders to be mindful of the potential for wider spread of the virus during large gatherings.

In the light of the latest development, the PSC, has recommended for safe Eid-el-Kabir celebration, preventive measures such as decentralisation of Eid Prayer to neighborhood Friday prayer mosques (outdoor); suspension of Durbar activities and observation of limitations on all indoor gatherings.

Leave A Reply

%d bloggers like this: