Report on Interest
under logo

JUST IN: Fayose’s annointed aspirant, Kolawole, wins Ekiti PDP guber primary

By News Desk

The former chairman of the Ekiti State chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Bisi Kolawole, has emerged as the gubernatorial candidate of the party after edging out an ex-governor, Segun Oni, and other aspirants contesting to represent PDP during the election.

Other aspirants that also contested against the former governor, Ayodele Fayose, anointed aspirant to become PDP’s candidate were: a former deputy governor of the state. Kolapo Olusola, Kayode Adaramodu, Kazeem Ayodeji, and Deborah Ali.

Also vying for the party’s ticket ahead of the election in the state, were: Aderemi Adewumi, Adewale Aribisala, while Biodun Olujimi, a senator representing Ekiti south, stepped down minutes before delegates started casting their votes.

Kolawole was declared winner of the primary on Wednesday by the electoral committee led by the Akwa Ibom state governor, Udom Emmanuel, after polling more votes than other aspirants vying to become PDP’s standard-bearer ahead of the June 18 governorship election in the state.

Before the primary in Ado-Ekiti, the state capital, Kolawole had resigned his position as Ekiti PDP chairman to contest the governorship election.

The winner of the PDP gubernatorial primary was a former lawmaker representing Efon constituency in the state house of assembly and had served as commissioner of the environment between 2015 and 2018.

While endorsing Kolawole for the governorship election, Fayose had described him as a bridge-builder who will usher in a better future for Ekiti and the PDP.

“The man you have come to honour, Bisi Kolawole, is our collective project. I made him my preferred candidate in the overall interest of our party, but this does not foreclose due process of nomination in PDP,” Fayose said.

“PDP is what we are supporting; it is what we are marketing. And all we want is a winner. We have started consultations and I know that victory is sure for us.”

Kayode Adaramodu— 10
Kazeem Ayodeji— 6
Olusola Kolapo— 93
Deborah Ali— 1
Ojo— 1
Makanjuola— 1
Biodun Olujimi— 2
Aderemi Adewumi— 1
Adewale Aribisala— 56
Segun Oni— 330
Bisi Kolawole— 671

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: