Report on Interest
under logo

FG attributes poor power supply to 8 faulty plants

By News Desk

The Federal Government has attributed power outages and poor supply across the county to eight faulty energy plants from those serving the nation, adding that efforts are being intensified to restore power in homes of all Nigerians.

It listed the affected National Integrated Power Plants (NIPP) supplying electricity to the national grid to include Sapele, Afam, Olonrunsogo, Omotosho, Ibom, Egbin, Alaoji, and Ihovbor.

The Minister of Power, Sale Mamman, said that while apologising to Nigerians over the current situation, said that all available avenues are being explored to get the power plant running to its optimal level and ensure energy was restored to Nigerians’ homes.

The minister, through a statement by his Special Adviser adviser on Media and Communications, described the power outages and shortages in various parts of the country as regrettable.

He added that while the Jebba power plant was shut down for annual maintenance, the Shiroro power plant has water management problems that was being managed by experts in the industry.

“Seven other integrated power plants – Geregu, Sepele, Omotosho, Gbarain, Omuku, Paras, and Alaoji – are experiencing gas constraints,” the statement said.

The minister decried that the condition of the plants has drastically affected power generation, leading to effectively minimising the national grid.

He, however, assured Nigerians that the ministry through the appropriate agencies was working assiduously to rectify the technical problems affecting the plants, as well as making effort to resolve the gas issues to the others.

The minister stated that the national grid would be restored to its previous historic distribution peak of about 5,600MW of electricity achieved earlier in 2021, so as to relieve Nigerians from the current harsh climatic conditions and restore full economic activities.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: